The Humming Bird and the sprinkler

 

Bee Balm and Day Lilies

Setting up the sprinkler yesterday over the grass seedlings, cucumber plants, and the sad looking lettuces all going to seed, I watched a Humming bird flitting in and out of the rotating fountains of water, over a little field of wild daisies. Most attracted to deeply colored blooms of red and orange, it seemed odd that this tiny hummer was so busy sinking and rising over such an unappealing array of green and white, when there are Bee Balm in full bloom everywhere among the Day Lilies and a basket of Fuschia hanging on the deck next to–guess what?–a Humming bird feeder! A Rose-breasted Grosbeak appeared at the feeder today  just as I slid open the screen to go out and water plants. I probably startled it and chased it to unknown parts!! Also saw a Robin trying to drink from my pond and unable to land in the water or get a grip on the flat rocks at the edge as a dipping point. A bird bath is in order but I have only one that leaks in the summer but swells and works well in the winter for some reason,  and another extra stand with no bowl. Had to remedy this sorry state of affairs with a trip to Ward’s this morning for a new bird bath. Tanner loves these outings and sits quietly behind me in the back of my little wagon on his bed just taking in the sights. Of course, I hemmed and hawed over whether to buy the one I really love at $30 more, or settle for a cheaper but also very subtle style that will work just fine–and at a distance what will it matter? After much deliberation, I picked up the cheaper one.

This ranks with picking out colors–my first instinct is almost  always the most tried and true. What I would like to be true and what I know to be true can sometimes be widely disparate. I’m always reaching for more experimental choices, trying to decide when reaching is more or less satisfying. Hemming and hawing is like having a little tete a tete with myself, a sometimes very productive exercise.  This often provides balance to my thinking. Later, what I did do was to overflow the pond to brimming, creating the most natural bird bath there is. The flat stones actually make direct contact with the water, which is constantly circulating, filtered and clear, and perfect for drinking. Voila!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

